at AUSA in Washington, D.C.


This is my (Maj. Junel Jeffrey) first time at the Association of the U.S. Army (AUSA) annual meeting. I’ve never experienced something like this before. There are so many people at this event! I’ve met quite a few people who are not aware of SETAF’s transformation to U.S. Army Africa. I’m briefing people about our mission, where we are located and how they can learn more about our team.

One thing that’s for sure is everyone can clearly see our booth from all directions. I asked a guard to look over her shoulder and tell me what she sees. She said, “I don’t see anything but that U.S. Army Africa sign. That’s what I see when I look over there.” Priceless.

I’ve spoken with everyone from ROTC cadets and newly commissioned lieutenants to senior military leaders and retirees. I’ve had much of the same reaction: surprise about the command’s existence and interest in the mission. I hope our being here at the AUSA annual meeting will change that.

The “passports” are simply a hit! People love the takeaway command information included in the U.S. Army Africa Passport Booklet. They also enjoy having their photo taken with the Venetian Grand Canal or African safari background.

We’ve had stead visitors today. I wonder what will happen tomorrow. More to follow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Association of the United States Army, events, outreach

Leave a Reply

